Description

The Tracks and Special Programs Department provides and administrates all additional programs that are offered to all RVU students aimed at enhancing the core curriculum. Currently RVUCOM offers 7 – four year Tracks in the following subject areas; Global Medicine, Rural Medicine, Physician Scientist, Urban Underserved, Digital Health, Long Term Care, and Academic Medicine and Leadership. 

Single semester Elective courses are also offered during the year, which cover topics such as Humanities in Medicine, Medical Spanish, and Global Medical Outreach. The department continues to develop additional learning opportunities for all RVU students.  All students in good academic standing as per the student handbook are eligible to apply/enroll in these courses. 

General Information

We provide students with optional, credit earning courses that cover topics beyond that of the regular core curriculum. 

    • This includes all TRACK and all ELECTIVE Courses.
    • TRACKS AND ELECTIVES can vary in length and the amount of hours in class. Credit hours will vary anywhere from .5 to 3 credits per course. All grades and credit hours are posted on the student transcript.   All courses provide a detailed syllabus that has been approved by the RVU Institutional Curriculum Committee.
    •  TRACKS involve an application process, are longitudinal and progressive in nature, more career-oriented, last 3.5 years in length, and include some sort of clinical component. Grades are PH/P/F at the discretion of the Course Director(s).
    •  ELECTIVES are short Pass/Fail stand-alone, one-semester courses. Most of these have 3-4 sections to avoid an overlap in materials.  The course directors also provide a complete and approved syllabus for each of these courses.  There may be a nominal fee associated with some electives. The Medical Spanish elective does require a pretest to establish fluency level in order to place you into the correct class. i.e. January elective may be “Basic Medical Spanish” and the fall semester may be “Intermediate/Advanced." 
    • The department also offers the following:
      • Student one-year sabbaticals for off campus additional degree earnings (i.e. MPH) or bench research
      • Approves all international externship sites for clinical students
      • Provides medical outreach opportunities for all interested M1 - M4 students.
        • Note that students do not need to be in a track to participate in medical outreach.

     

Any questions please contact:

Department Admins: globalmedicine@rvu.edu

Department Chair: Dr. Camille Bentley DO, MPH, FACOFP: at cbentley@rvu.edu 

Colorado Campus, Pod B

President, Hands for Health Foundation, Aurora, CO. 

www.handsforhealthfoundation.org

General Information

Tracks are open to second semester first year students and run through the remainder of their education.

Colorado

Global Medicine

     Dr. Bentley cbentley@rvu.edu 

 

Rural & Wilderness Medicine

     Dr. Ross dross@rvu.edu 

 

Physician-Scientist 

     Dr. Ryznar rryznar@rvu.edu 

 

Urban Underserved

     Dr. Jean Bouquet jbouquet@rvu.edu

     Ms. Jen Fisher jfisher@rvu.edu 

     

 

Utah

Academic Medicine & Leadership

     Dr. Park dpark@rvu.edu 

Global Medicine

     Dr. Pryor jpryor@rvu.edu 

Long Term Care Medicine

     Dr. Crimin dcrimin@rvu.edu 

Rural & Wilderness Medicine

     Dr. Nigh anigh@rvu.edu 

Physician-Scientist 

     Dr. Woodbuy dwoodbury@rvu.edu

 

General Information

Electives are open to any student in good standing after passing the first semester of their education.  Course offering may change due to enrollment, location, or fluency (Medical Spanish).  Please understand that as we add new courses, we may not be able to run every course every semester.    

Colorado

Graphic Novels & Medicine (fall and spring)

     Dr. George igeorge@rvu.edu 

History of Medicine (fall and spring)

     Ms. Fisher jfisher@rvu.edu 

Medical Spanish (fall and spring)

     Mr. Foster 

Utah

Medical Spanish Elective - Mark Wardle, DO, mwardle@rvu.edu

Comparative Health Care Professions and Practices Elective Clyde Jensen, PhD., cjensen@rvu.edu

NOTE - Registration begins in mid-January

Global Medical Outreach Trips 2019-2020 School Year

SPRING BREAK TRIPS:

     Colorado Campus

          Guatemala - Dr. Bentley

          Possibly Another TBA 

 

     Utah Campus

          Dominican Republic - Dr. Wardle

          Belize - Dr. Wilde

Global Medical Outreach - More Information