Description

This department provides and administrates all additional programs that are offered to all RVU students aimed at enhancing the core curriculum.   Currently RVUCOM offers 7 – four year Tracks in the following subject areas; Global Medicine, Rural Medicine, Physician Scientist, Urban Underserved,  Long Term Care, and Academic Medicine.  Single semester Elective courses are also offered during the year, which cover topics such as Humanities in Medicine, Integrative Medicine, Medical Spanish, and Global Medical Outreach.  The department continues to develop additional learning opportunities for all RVU students.  All students in good academic standing as per the student handbook are eligible to apply/enroll in these courses. 

General Information

  • This department provides students with optional, credit earning courses that cover topics beyond that of the normal core curriculum.
  • This includes all TRACK and all ELECTIVE Courses.
  • TRACKS AND ELECTIVES can vary in length and the amount of hours in class. Credit hours will vary anywhere from .5 to 3 credits per course. All grades and credit hours are posted on the student transcript.   All courses provide a detailed syllabus that has been approved by the RVU Institutional Curriculum Committee.
  • TRACKS involve an application process, are longitudinal and progressive in nature, more career-oriented, last 3.5 years in length, and include some sort of clinical component. Grades are PH/P/F at the discretion of the Course Director(s).
  • ELECTIVES are short Pass/Fail stand-alone, one-semester courses. Most of these have 3-4 sections to avoid an overlap in materials.  The course directors also provide a complete and approved syllabus for each of these courses.  There may be a nominal fee associated with some electives. The Medical Spanish elective does require a pretest to establish fluency level in order to place you into the correct class. i.e. January elective may be “Basic Medical Spanish” and the fall semester may be “Intermediate/Advanced." 
  • The department also offers the following:
    • Student one-year sabbaticals for off campus additional degree earnings (i.e. MPH) or bench research
    • Approves all international externship sites for clinical students
    • Provides medical outreach opportunities for all interested M1 - M4 students. Note that students do not need to be in a track to participate in medical outreach.

Any questions please contact:

Department Chair, Dr. Camille Bentley DO, MPH, FACOFP: at cbentley@rvu.edu 

Colorado Campus, Pod B

President, Hands for Health Foundation, Aurora, CO. 

www.handsforhealthfoundation.org

General Information

Tracks are open to second semester first year students and run through the remainder of your education.

Colorado

Global Medicine

     Dr Bentley cbentley@rvu.edu 

Military Medicine

     Dr LaPorta alaporta@rvu.edu 

Rural & Wilderness Medicine

     Dr Ross dross@rvu.edu 

Physician-Scientist 

     Dr Ryznar rryznar@rvu.edu 

Urban Underserved

     Miss Jen Fisher jfisher@rvu.edu 

     Dr Qam Choudhury qchoudhury@rvu.edu 

 

Utah

Academic Medicine & Leadership

     Dr Park dpark@rvu.edu 

Global Medicine

     Dr Pryor jpryor@rvu.edu 

Long Term Care Medicine

     Dr Crimin dcrimin@rvu.edu 

Military Medicine

    Dr. LeBaron alebaron@rvu.edu

Rural & Wilderness Medicine

     Dr Nigh anigh@rvu.edu 

Physician-Scientist 

     Dr Wells mwells@rvu.edu 

Global Medical Outreach Trips Spring 2020

General Information

Electives are open to any student in good standing and passed the first semester of their education.  Course offering may change due to enrollment, location, or fluency (Medical Spanish).  Please understand that as we add new courses, we may not be able to run every course every semester.    

Colorado

Graphic Novels & Medicine (fall and spring)

     Dr George igeorge@rvu.edu 

History of Medicine (fall and spring)

     Miss Fisher jfisher@rvu.edu 

Medical Spanish (fall and spring)

     Mr Foster 

Utah

Medical Spanish Elective (Enrollment starts in mid January), Mark Wardle, DO, mwardle@rvu.edu

Comparative Health Care Professions and Practices Elective (Enrollment starts in mid January) Clyde Jensen, PhD., cjensen@rvu.edu