Uploaded image tracks & special programs department

The Tracks and Special Programs Department provides and administrates all additional programs that are offered to all RVU students aimed at enhancing the core curriculum. Currently this department offers 7 three and half year Tracks in the following subject areas; Global Medicine, Rural & Wilderness Medicine, Physician Scientist, Urban Underserved, Digital Health, Long Term Care, and Academic Medicine and Leadership. 

Single semester Elective courses are also offered during the year, which cover topics such as Humanities in Medicine, Medical Spanish, and Global Medical Outreach. The department continues to develop additional learning opportunities for all RVU students.  All students in good academic standing as per the student handbook are eligible to apply to/enroll in these courses. 

General Information

We provide students with optional, credit earning courses that cover topics beyond that of the regular core curriculum. 

    • This includes all TRACK and all ELECTIVE Courses.
    • TRACKS and ELECTIVES can vary in length and the amount of hours in class. Credit hours will vary anywhere from .5 to 3 credits per course. All grades and credit hours are posted on the student transcript. All courses provide a detailed syllabus that has been approved by the RVU Institutional Curriculum Committee.
    • TRACKS involve an application process, are longitudinal and progressive in nature, more career-oriented, last 3.5 years in length, and include some sort of clinical component. Grades are Honors/Pass/Fail at the discretion of the Course Director(s).
    • ELECTIVES are short Pass/Fail stand-alone, one-semester courses. Most of these have 3-4 sections to avoid an overlap in materials. The course directors also provide a complete and approved syllabus for each of these courses.  There may be a nominal fee associated with some electives. The Medical Spanish elective does require a pretest to establish fluency level in order to place you into the correct class. i.e. January elective may be “Basic Medical Spanish” and the fall semester may be “Intermediate/Advanced." 
    • The department also offers the following:
      • Student one-year sabbaticals for off campus additional degree earnings (i.e. MPH) or bench research
      • Approves all international externship sites for clinical students
      • Provides medical outreach opportunities for all interested M1-M4 students.
        • Note that students do not need to be in a track to participate in medical outreach.

CONTACTS:

Department Admins: globalmedicine@rvu.edu         

Department Chair: Dr. Camille Bentley DO, MPH, FACOFP: at cbentley@rvu.edu 

Colorado Campus, Pod B

President, Hands for Health Foundation, Aurora, CO. 

www.handsforhealthfoundation.org

ELECTRONIC FORMS

TRACK STUDENTS - Use this link to complete the form for your track.

General Information

Tracks are open to second semester first year students and run through the remainder of their education.

Colorado

Digital Health 

     Dr. Cole Zanetti czanetti@rvu.edu

 

Global Medicine

     Dr. Camille Bentley - cbentley@rvu.edu 

     Dr. Vickie Roettger - vroettger@rvu.edu

 

Rural & Wilderness Medicine

     Dr. Dave Ross - dross@rvu.edu 

 

Physician-Scientist 

     Dr. Rebecca Ryznar - rryznar@rvu.edu 

 

Urban Underserved

     Dr. Jean Bouquet jbouquet@rvu.edu

     Ms. Jen Fisher jfisher@rvu.edu 

     

 

Utah

Academic Medicine & Leadership

     Dr. David Park dpark@rvu.edu 

 

Digital Health 

     Dr. Regan Stiegmann rstiegmann@rvu.edu

 

Global Medicine

     Dr. Jan Pryor jpryor@rvu.edu

     Dr. Mark Wardle mwardle@rvu.edu

 

Physician Scientist

     Dr. Amanda Brooks abrooks@rvu.edu

 

 

Long Term Care Medicine

     Dr. David Crimin dcrimin@rvu.edu

 

 Rural & Wilderness Medicine

     Dr. Andy Nigh anigh@rvu.edu

     Dr. Thomas Bigham tbigham@rvu.edu

 

 

General Information

Electives are open to all students, from any program who are in good standing. Course offerings may change due to enrollment, location, or fluency (Medical Spanish).  Please understand that as we add new courses, we may not be able to run every course every semester.

To register for an elective, email the course director. They will work on filling their classes and when their roster is finalized, they will work with the Registrar to get students officially enrolled.   

Colorado-Sponsored Electives

Graphic Novels & Medicine 

     Dr. George igeorge@rvu.edu 

History of Medicine

     Ms. Fisher - jfisher@rvu.edu 

     Dr. Elizabeth George - egeorge@rvu.edu

Medical Spanish

     Dr. Mark Wardle - mwardle@rvu.edu

Medicine in Film

     Dr. An Dang - adang@rvu.edu

     Mr. Joe Richard - jrichard@rvu.edu

 

A couple of new electives are also in the works ... stay tuned!

 

Utah-Sponsored Electives

Medical Spanish Elective - 

      Mark Wardle, DO, mwardle@rvu.edu

       Thomas Bigham, DO  tbigham@rvu.edu

 

NOTE - Registration begins in mid-September and mid-January

 

Stay tuned for some new electives coming in the Spring of 2021